New Mexico Hurricane Katrina Evacuation (EM-3229)

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

November 1, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- For survivors of hurricanes Katrina and Rita from Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Texas, the deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance has been extended to January 11, 2006. To apply for disaster assistance, survivors should call FEMA at 1-800-621-FEMA (3362), or TTY 1-800-462-7585. Lines are open 24 hours a day, seven days a week until further notice. They may also register online at
October 29, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Hurricane evacuees who have registered for assistance with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are reminded to update their contact information whenever it changes. It is important for evacuees registered for disaster aid with FEMA to check their application status regularly and ensure their address and phone numbers remain current. Otherwise, people who have moved and not updated their contact information may not receive important correspondence such as calls about temporary housing and other disaster assistance.
October 27, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Displaced residents of Alabama, Mississippi and Louisiana who lost their jobs due to the recent hurricanes may be able to claim disaster unemployment benefits even if they are not normally eligible for state unemployment compensation. Disaster Unemployment Assistance (DUA) extends income compensation to self-employed people, farm workers, people who have worked for only a few weeks, and others who have lost earned income or whose income has been interrupted as a result of a major disaster declared by the President of the United States.
October 25, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK Ark. -- Taxpayers affected by Hurricane Katrina now have until Feb. 28, 2006 to file tax returns and pay any taxes due following legislation approved by Congress and signed by the President, the Internal Revenue Service announced recently. The Katrina Emergency Tax Relief Act of 2005 (H.R. 3768) postpones deadlines for affected taxpayers to file tax returns, pay taxes and perform other time-sensitive acts until Feb. 28, 2006. Taxpayers affected by the hurricane may be eligible for tax relief, regardless of where they live.
October 24, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Homeowners, renters and business owners whose applications for disaster assistance may have been denied following Hurricane Rita have the option to appeal the denial they received from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). A denial letter may not be the final word; it may just mean an applicant needs to give us more information, according to FEMA spokespersons. If you have questions about FEMA's decision, you have 60 days to appeal.
October 22, 2005
News Release
LITTLE ROCK, Ark. -- Applying for or receiving state and federal financial assistance to recover from a disaster will not cause elderly evacuees to sacrifice Social Security benefits, pay additional taxes or give up income-based benefit programs. Some older evacuees have expressed this concern in recent days, according to the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) and U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA).


Incident period: August 29, 2005 to October 1, 2005
Emergency Declaration declared on September 7, 2005
Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top