South Dakota Severe Storms (DR-1375)

Incident period: March 1, 2001 to April 30, 2001
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 17, 2001

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

June 18, 2001
News Release
Watertown, SD -- Federal disaster funds have been made available to seven additional South Dakota counties to help local governments rebuild public property damaged by severe winter storms, ice jams and spring flooding during the period March 1 through April 30, the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) announced today. The additional counties are Buffalo, Deuel, Edmunds, Gregory, Jerauld, Todd and Tripp. FEMA Director Joe M. Allbaugh said the assistance was approved following a review of damage data gathered by federal and state disaster recovery officials.
June 13, 2001
News Release
Watertown, SD -- Seventeen South Dakota counties were declared eligible for Public Assistance under President Bush's recent disaster declaration for damages due to severe winter storms, ice jams and flooding occurring between March 1 and April 30. "Public Assistance addresses important public needs," stated Gracia Szczech, federal coordinating officer for the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). "Most of the damages under this disaster are to roads, bridges and culverts that were impacted by spring flooding."
May 30, 2001
News Release
Watertown, SD -- State and federal officials announced today that disaster assistance is available to six additional counties in South Dakota. The newly declared counties are Brown, Day, Hanson, Marshall, Moody and Turner. This follows a review of information regarding damages that occurred as a result of severe winter storms, flooding and ice jams that impacted the state from March 1 through April 30.
May 17, 2001
News Release
Washington, DC -- Federal disaster funds were made available today to help communities in 11 South Dakota counties recover from the effects of a series of late winter storms that plagued the state over the past two months, according to the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).
Main Content

State/Tribal Government: 
Back to Top