Iowa Severe Storms, Flooding and Tornadoes (DR-1277)

Incident period: May 16, 1999 to May 29, 1999
Major Disaster Declaration declared on May 21, 1999

Updates and Articles, Blogs, and News Releases

May 21, 1999
News Release
WASHINGTON, D.C. -- Ten Iowa counties ravaged by violent storms and floods were designated for federal aid today by the head of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) under a major disaster declaration issued for the state by President Clinton. FEMA Director James Lee Witt said the President authorized the assistance this morning following a review of the agency's analysis of the state's expedited request for federal relief. The declaration covers damage from severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that hit the state starting May 16.


Back to Top