State Hazard Mitigation Officers

Main Content

The Federal Emergency Management Agency's (FEMAs) Mitigation Grant Programs are provided to eligible applicant states/tribes/territories that, in turn, provide sub-grants to local governments. The applicant selects and prioritizes applications developed and submitted to them by local jurisdictions to submit to FEMA for grant funds. Prospective sub-applicants should consult the official designated point of contact for their applicant state/tribe/territory for further information regarding specific program and application requirements.

The State Hazard Mitigation Officers are listed below.

A

Alabama

Kelli B. Alexander
Alabama Emergency Management Agency
5898 County Road 41
Clanton, AL  35046-2160
Phone: (205) 280-2269
Fax: (205) 280-2442
E-Mail: kelli.alexander@ema.alabama.gov
Web Page: ema.alabama.gov

Alaska

Mark W. Roberts
Alaska Department of Homeland Security and
Emergency Management
Bldg. 4900, Suite B-214
P.O. Box 5750
Ft. Richardson, AK 99505-5750
Phone: (907) 428-7016 / (Toll Free) (800) 478-2337
Fax: (907) 428-7009
E-Mail: mark.roberts@alaska.gov
Web Page: ak-prepared.com

American Samoa

Lima Fiatoa
Territorial Emergency Management Coordinating Office
PO Box 997755
Pago Pago, AS 96799
Phone: (684) 699-6481
Fax: (684) 699-6414
E-Mail: lima.fiatoa@tofr.as.gov
Web page: americansamoa.gov

Arizona

Thomas "Duke" Jones
Arizona Division of Emergency Management (ADEM)
5636 E. McDowell Road
Phoenix, AZ 85008
Phone: (602) 464-6349
E-Mail: Tom.Jones@azdema.gov
Web Page: dem.azdema.gov

Arkansas

Lacye Blake
Department of Emergency Management
Building #9501 Camp JT Robinson
North Little Rock, AR 72199-9600
Phone: (501) 683-6700
Fax: (501) 683-7890
E-Mail: Lacye.Blake@adem.arkansas.gov
Web Page: adem.arkansas.gov
 

C

California

Kirby Everhart
Governor's Office of Emergency Services
3650 Shriever Avenue
Mather, CA 95655
Phone: (916) 845-8131
E-Mail: kirby.everhart@oes.ca.gov
Web Page: oes.ca.gov

Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands

Vickie Villagomez
Emergency Management Office
P.O. Box 825
Saipan, MP 96950
Phone: (670) 322-9528
Fax: (670) 322-7743
E-Mail: vvvillagomez@gmail.com
Web Page: www.cnmiemo.gov/mp/

Colorado

Marilyn Gally
Colorado Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Management
9195 E Mineral Ave, #200
Centennial, CO 80112
Phone: (720) 852-6694
Fax: (720) 852-6750
E-Mail: marilyn.gally@state.co.us
Web Page: www.dhsem.state.co.us

Connecticut

Emily Pysh
CT Div. of Emergency Management and Homeland Security
25 Sigourney Street, 6th Floor
Hartford, CT  06106
Telephone: 860-256-0865
E-Mail: Emily.pysh@ct.gov
Web Page: www.ct.gov/despp/site/default.asp

 

D

Delaware

Dave Carlson
Delaware Emergency Management
165 Brick Store Landing Road
Smyrna, DE 19977
Phone: (302) 659-2213
Fax: (302) 659-6855
E-Mail: david.carlson@state.de.us 
Web Page: dema.delaware.gov

District of Columbia

Donte Lucas
Homeland Security and Emergency Management Agency
2720 Martin Luther King Jr. Avenue, SE
Washington, DC 20032
Telephone Number: (202) 727-6161
E-Mail: dlucas-oep@dcgov.org
Web Page: dcema.dc.gov

F

Florida

Miles Anderson
Florida Division of Emergency Management
2555 Shumard Oak Boulevard
Tallahassee, FL 32399
Phone: 850.413.9816
Fax: 850.488.1016
E-Mail: Miles.Anderson@em.myflorida.com
Web Page: Floridadisaster.org

 

G

Georgia

Terry Lunn
Georgia Emergency Management Agency
Post Office Box 18055
Atlanta, GA 30316
Phone: (404) 635-7522
Fax: (404) 635-4572
E-Mail: terry.lunn@gema.ga.gov
Web Page: Gema.ga.gov

Guam

Leo Espia
Guam Homeland Security
Office of Civil Defense
221B Chalan Palasyo
Agana Heights, Guam 96910
Phone: (671) 635-9790
Fax: (671) 477-3727
Email : leo.espia@ghs.guam.gov
Web Page: http://www.aahd.us/2012/03/guam-emergency-preparedness-resources/
 

H

Hawaii

Ian Duncan
State of Hawaii Department of Defense
3949 Diamond Head Road
Honolulu, HI 96816-4495
Phone: (808) 733-4300
Fax: (808) 733-4137
E-Mail: iduncan@scd.hawaii.gov
Web Page: scd.hawaii.gov

I

Idaho

Mark Stephensen, CFM
Idaho Bureau of Homeland Security
4040 W Guard Street, Bldg 600
Boise, ID 83705-5004
Phone: (208)422-5726
E-Mail: mstephensen@bhs.idaho.gov
Web Page: BHS.idaho.gov

Illinois

Ron Davis
Illinois Emergency Management Agency
1035 Outer Park Drive
Springfield, IL 62704
Phone: (217) 524-1003
Fax: 217-782-8753
E-mail: ron.davis@illinois.gov
Web Page: State.il.us

Indiana

Mary Moran
Indiana Department of Homeland Security
Indiana Government Center South
302 West Washington Street, Room E-208A
Indianapolis, IN  46204-2767
Phone: 317-232-3831
Fax: 317-232-4987
E-Mail: mmoran@dhs.in.gov
Web Page: http://www.in.gov/dhs/

Iowa

Dennis Harper
Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division
7105 NW 70th Avenue, Camp Dodge, Bldg. W-4
Johnston, IA 50131
Phone: (515) 725-9348
Fax: (515) 281-7539
Email: Dennis.Harper@iowa.gov
Web Page: www.Iowahomelandsecurity.org

K

Kansas

Jacob Gray
Kansas Division of Emergency Management
2800 Southwest Topeka Blvd.
Topeka, KS 66611-1287
Phone: (785)274-1973
Fax: (785) 274-1426
E-Mail: jacob.s.gray.nfg@mail.mil 
Web Page: www.kansastag.gov/kdem

Kentucky

Geni Jo Brawner
Kentucky Division of Emergency Management
1121 Louisville Road, Building 1-B
Frankfort, KY 40601
Phone: (502) 607-5797
Email: geneva.j.brawner.nfg@mail.mil
Web page: kyem.ky.gov

L

Louisiana

Jeffrey Giering
Louisiana Governor’s Office of Homeland Security & Emergency Preparedness
7667 Independence Blvd.
Baton Rouge, LA 70806
Phone: (225) 267-2516
Email: jeffrey.giering@la.gov
Web page: Gohsep.la.gov

M

Maine

Joann Mooney
Maine Emergency Mgmt. Agency
72 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(address is for USPS mail only)
Phone: (207) 624-4466
Fax (207) 287-3178
Email: joann.e.mooney@maine.gov
Web Page: Maine.gov

Maryland

Mark James
Maryland Emergency Management Agency
State Emergency Operations Center
5401 Rue Saint Lo Drive
Reisterstown, MD 21136
Phone: (410) 517-3624
Fax: (410) 517-3610
E-mail: MJames@mema.state.md.us
Web Page: Mema.state.md.us

Massachusetts

Richard Zingarelli
Massachusetts Department of Conservation and Recreation
251 Causeway Street
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: (617) 626-1406
Fax: (617) 626-1455
Email: richard.zingarelli@state.ma.us
Web Page: www.mass.gov/eopss/agencies/mema

Michigan

Matthew Schnepp
Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division
Michigan Department of State Police
4000 Collins Road
Lansing, MI  48910
Phone: 517-336-2040
Fax: 517-333-4987
E-mail: schneppm1@michigan.gov
Web Page: http://www.michigan.gov/msp/0,4643,7-123-60152---,00.html

Minnesota

Jennifer Nelson
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Homeland Security and Emergency Management
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 223
St. Paul, MN 55101-6223
Phone: 651-201-7427
Fax: 651-296-0459
E-mail: jennifer.e.nelson@state.mn.us
Web Page: Hsem.state.mn.us

Mississippi

Jana Henderson
Mississippi Emergency Mgmt. Agency
P.O. Box 5644
Pearl, MS 39288
Phone: 601-933-6622
Email: jhenderson@mema.ms.gov
Web page: www.Msema.org

Missouri

Elizabeth Weyrauch
Missouri State Emergency Management Agency
2302 Militia Dr.
Jefferson City, MO 65102
Phone: (573) 526-9375
Fax: (573) 526-9193
E-mail: elizabeth.weyrauch@sema.dps.mo.gov
Web Page: Sema.dps.mo.gov

Montana

Kent Atwood
Montana Division of Disaster and Emergency Services
P.O. Box 4789
Ft. Harrison, MT 59636-4789
Phone: (406) 324-4782
Fax: (406) 324-4790
E-Mail: katwood@mt.gov
Web Page: Dma.mt.gov

N

Nebraska

Mary Baker
SHMO
Nebraska Emergency Management Agency
1300 Military Road
Lincoln, NE 68508-1090
Phone: (402) 471-7185
Fax: (402) 471-7268
E-Mail: mary.baker@nebraska.gov
Web Page: Nema.ne.gov

Nevada

Elizabeth Ashby
State of Nevada
2478 Fairview Drive
Carson City, NV 89701
Phone: (775) 687-0314
Fax: (775) 687-0322
E-Mail: eashby@dps.state.nv.us
Web Page: Dem.nv.gov

New Hampshire

Beth Peck
New Hampshire Homeland Security and Emergency Management
33 Hazen Drive
Concord, NH 03301
Office: 603-223-3655
Cell: 603-892-4026
E-Mail: Elizabeth.Peck@dos.nh.gov
Web Page:www.nh.gov/safety/divisions/hsem

New Jersey

Sgt. Michael K Gallagher
New Jersey Office of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 7068, River Road
West Trenton, NJ 08628-0068
Phone:(609) 963-6900 ext. 6208 
Fax: (609) 530-3649
Email: LPP5698@gw.njsp.org
Web Page: State.nj.us/njoem

New Mexico

Wendy Blackwell
Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Preparedness Bureau
P.O. Box 27111
Santa Fe, NM 87502
Phone: (505) 476-9676
E-Mail: wendy.blackwell@state.nm.us
Web Page: NMdhsem.org

New York

Richard Lord
New York State Office of Emergency Management
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 22, Suite 101
Albany, NY 12226-2251
Phone: (518) 292-2370
Fax: (518) 322-4983
E-Mail: rlord@dhses.ny.gov
Web Page: Dhses.ny.gov

North Carolina

Chris Crew
North Carolina Department of Public Safety
4238 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699
Phone: (919) 825-2305
Email: john.crew@ncem.org
Web Page: https://www.nccrimecontrol.org/Index2.cfm?a=000003,000010,000073,000513

North Dakota

Paul Messner
Division of Homeland Security, N.D. Department of Emergency Services
Fraine Barracks Lane - Building 35
PO Box 5511
Bismarck, N.D. 58504
Phone: (701) 328-8100
Fax: (701) 328-8181
Toll Free: (800) 773-3259
Email: pmessner@nd.gov
Web page: www.nd.gov/des/emergency

O

Ohio

Steven Ferryman, Mitigation Branch Chief
Ohio Department of Public Safety
2855 West Dublin-Granville Road
Columbus, Ohio  43235-2206
Phone: 614-799-3539
Fax: 614-799-3526
E-mail:  Email:  saferryman@dps.ohio.gov
Web Page: ema.Ohio.gov

Oklahoma

Anne Mack Vest
Oklahoma Emergency Management Agency
P.O. Box 53365
Oklahoma City, OK  73152-3365
Phone: (405) 521-2481
Fax: (405) 521-4053
E-Mail: annie.vest@oem.ok.gov
Web Page: http://www.ok.gov/OEM/

Oregon

Dennis J. Sigrist
Office of Emergency Management
3225 State St.
Salem, OR 97301
Phone: (503) 378-2911 ext 22247
Fax: (503) 373-7833
E-Mail: dsigrist@oem.state.or.us
Web Page: Oregon.gov

P

Pennsylvania

Tom Hughes
Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency
2605 Interstate Drive
P.O. Box 3221
Harrisburg, PA 17105-3221
Phone: (717) 651-2726
Fax: (717) 651-2150
E-Mail: thughes@pa.gov
Web Page: pema.state.pa.us

Puerto Rico

Carel Velazquez Pola
Puerto Rico Emergency Management Agency
Post Office Box 194140
San Juan, Puerto Rico  00919-4140
Phone: (787) 724-0124
Email : cvelazquez@tig.ogp.gobierno.pr

R

Rhode Island

Jess Stimson
RI Emergency Mgmt. Agency
645 New London Ave
Cranston, RI  02920
Phone: (401) 462-7115
Fax (401) 944-1891
Email: jessica.r.stimson.nfg@mail.mil
Web Page: sos.ri.gov

S

South Carolina

Katie Norris
South Carolina Emergency Management Division
2779 Fish Hatchery Road
West Columbia, SC 29172
Phone: (803)737-8643
E-mail: knorris@emd.sc.gov
Web Page: http://scemd.org

South Dakota

Jim Poppen
South Dakota Division of Emergency Management
118 West Capitol Avenue
Pierre, SD  57501
Phone: (605) 773-3231
Fax: (605) 773-3580
E-Mail: Jim.poppen@state.sd.us
Web Page: oem.sd.gov

T

Tennessee

Douglas Worden
Tennessee Emergency Management Agency
3041 Sidco Drive
Nashville, Tennessee 37204
Phone: (615) 741-1345
Fax: (615) 532-9222
E-mail: dworden@tnema.org 
Web Page: Tnema.org

Texas

Johnna Cantrell
Texas Division of Emergency Management
P.O. Box 4087
Austin, TX 78773-0226
Phone: (512) 424-2453
Fax: (512) 424-2444
E-mail: johnna.cantrell@dps.texas.gov
Web Page: TXdps.state.tx.us

U

Utah

Brad Bartholomew
Utah Department of Public Safety
Box 141710
110 State Office Building
Salt Lake City, UT 84114
Phone: (801) 538-3769
Cell Phone: (801) 330-4461
E-mail: bbart@utah.gov
Web Page: des.utah.gov

V

Vermont

Ray Doherty
Vermont Emergency Management Agency-DPS
103 S. Main Street
Waterbury, VT 05671
Phone: (802) 241-5258
Fax (802) 241-5556
Email: rdoherty@dps.state.vt.us
Web Page: dps.state.vt.us

Virginia

Matthew Wall
Department of Emergency Management
10501 Trade Court
Richmond, VA 23236-3713
Phone: (804) 897-6500, ext. 6541
Fax: (804) 897-6526
E-Mail: Matthew.Wall@vdem.virginia.gov
Web Page: VAemergency.com

Virgin Islands

Haldor Farquhar
Virgin Islands Territorial Emergency Mangement Agency
8221 Estate Nisky
St. Thomas, USVI 00803
Phone: (340) 774-2244
E-Mail: haldor.farquhar@vitema.vi.gov
Web Page: http://www.vitema.gov/mitigation/index.html

W

Washington

Tim Cook
Washington Emergency Management
MS: TA-20, Bldg 20
Camp Murray, WA 98430-5122
Phone: (253) 512-7072
Fax: (253) 512-7207
E-Mail: tim.cook@mil.wa.gov
Web Page: http://www.emd.wa.gov/grants/grants_hazard_mitigation.shtml

West Virginia

Brian Penix
1900 Kanawha Blvd. E
Building 1 Room EB-80
Charleston, WV 25305-0360
Phone: 304-957-2572
Fax: 304-965-3216
E-Mail: brian.m.penix@wv.gov
Web Page: http://www.dhsem.wv.gov/Grants/Pages/default.aspx

Wisconsin

Katie Sommers
Wisconsin Emergency Management
2400 Wright Street
P.O. Box 7865
Madison, WI 53707-7865
Phone: (608)-242-3222
Fax: (608) 242-3248
E-Mail: katie.sommers@wisconsin.gov
Web Page: http://emergencymanagement.wi.gov/mitigation/default.asp

Wyoming

Melinda Gibson
Wyoming Office of Homeland Security
Herschler Building, First Floor East
122 West 25th Street
Cheyenne, WY 82002
Phone: (307) 777-4914
Fax: (307) 635-6017
Email: melinda.gibson@wyo.gov
Web Page: http://wyohomelandsecurity.state.wy.us/grants/mitigation_grants.aspx

 

Last Updated: 
06/17/2015 - 08:43
Back to Top