Region X: Mitigation Division

Main Content

Welcome from Mark Carey, Region X Mitigation Division Director

The Region X Mitigation Division strives to create safer communities by reducing the risks to loss of life and property. Mitigation measures enable individuals to recover more quickly from floods and other disasters and lessen the financial impact of disasters
on the nation.

Operationally, and to best accomplish its mission, the division is comprised of three major components: Risk Analysis, Floodplain Management and Insurance, and Hazard Mitigation which includes the Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation Program.

For information about the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) compliance with the Endangered Species Act (ESA) Model Ordinance click here

Risk Analysis Branch

Risk analysis promotes disaster resilience by enabling individuals and communities to recover more rapidly from floods and other disasters through effective risk analysis and hazard mitigation planning. Among the programs administered by this branch:

Flood Map Modernization (Map Mod)

The National Dam Safety Program (NDSP)

The National Hurricane Program (NHP)

National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP)


Floodplain Management and Insurance Branch

The Floodplain Management and Insurance Branch administers the floodplain management and insurance aspects of the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).  These programs focus on state and local building codes and zoning regulations to assure that new development and substantial improvements located in a floodplain are constructed to prevent or minimize future flood damage.  Under the insurance part of the program, this office provides oversight of flood insurance training programs and outreach efforts for insurance agents, lenders and property owners throughout the region. The following program areas are within the Floodplain Management and Insurance Branch:

Hazard Mitigation Branch

Risk reduction creates safer communities by proactively reducing risk and enhancing the capability of states and local communities to reduce their risk from natural hazards. FEMA has authority for five Hazard Mitigation Assistance grant programs with unique statutory authorities, program requirements and triggers for funding. The programs are the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM), Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA), Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL), and Repetitive Flood Claims (RFC). They all share a common goal: to assist state and local communities in their efforts to reduce the loss of life and property from future natural hazard events.

The Severe Repetitive Loss (SRL) grant program was authorized by the Bunning-Bereuter-Blumenauer Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004, which amended the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 to provide funding to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to severe repetitive loss (SRL) structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP).

Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation (EHP) Program

The Environmental Planning and Historic Preservation (EHP) program integrates the protection and enhancement of environmental, historic, and cultural resources into FEMA's mission, programs and activities. It ensures that FEMA's activities including facility management, its Public and Individual Assistance programs, and all Hazard Mitigation and Emergency Preparedness grants comply with federal environmental and historic preservation laws and executive orders. EHP also provides environmental and historic preservation technical assistance to FEMA staff, local, sate and federal partners.

Last Updated: 
12/16/2014 - 14:17
Back to Top