Main Content

Region VI: Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, & Texas

Main Content

This section of the site contains information on FEMA Region 6's mission, background and information about the City of Denton, TX. 

Welcome to Region VI

Region VI oversees the federal emergency management for Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas and 68 federally recognized Tribal Nations.

Graphic showing Biloxi Lighthouse in Biloxi, MS
Our mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.
Our staff of over 500 full-time employees located in Denton, Texas, and in Baton Rouge and New Orleans, Louisiana, work diligently to carry out the FEMA mission on a daily basis and is ready to support presidentially declared disasters.
Emergency managers in our External Affairs, Mission Support, Mitigation, National Preparedness, Recovery, Response Divisions, and in several processing centers, including the Louisiana Recovery Office and Baton Rouge Processing Center collaborate and communicate closely with our federal, state, tribal, local, and private sector partners before, during and after disasters.
Additionally, we are one of only five regions that house Mobile Emergency Response (MERS) detachments. The Denton MERS provides mobile telecommunications, operational support, life support, and power generation assets allowing onsite management of disaster and all-hazard activities.

FEMA Region 6 is located in the growing city of Denton, Texas. The Denton lifestyle is very affordable with access to a variety of activities, as well as very close proximity to the cities of Dallas and Fort Worth. You can learn more about Denton and all it offers by clicking on the links below.

Denton Economic Development Partnership

Denton Chamber of Commerce

Last Updated: 
08/21/2015 - 19:08