Region IV: AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN

Main Content

Regional Administrator Phil May, Deputy Regional Administrator Mary Lynn Miller and senior staff participate in a coordination call following the deadly tornado outbreak on Friday and Saturday, March 2-3.


Who We Are and What We Do  

Map showing the 8 states that FEMA Region IV is responsible for - Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and TennesseeFEMA Region IV serves the southeastern states of Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. The Regional Office is located in Atlanta, Ga., and the Federal Regional Center is located in Thomasville, Ga. Region IV currently has Recovery Offices in Florida and Mississippi.

Region IV has built a skilled workforce to support our citizens and first responders to work together to build, sustain and improve our capabilities to prevent, prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards. Our Regional team works hand-in-hand with federal, state, tribal, local and private sector partners to meet the needs of its state emergency management agencies.

Region IV's natural risks include hurricanes, tornadoes, flooding, droughts, ice storms, earthquakes, wildfires, and tropical storms. Six of our eight states are hurricane-prone, so Federal Coordinating Officers have been pre-designated to plan for hurricane response issues and work closely with the state emergency management agencies.

Because Region IV houses both nuclear power facilities and chemical weapon stockpiles, we have an increased risk for a manmade disaster. Currently, there are 17 nuclear power facilities and applications for nine new sites. Those facilities supply 29 percent of the nation's electrical power output, and the addition of the new sites will increase that capacity by 51 percent. There are two chemical weapons stockpiles within Region IV.


Office of the Regional Administrator    

Major P. "Phil" May, Regional Administrator

As Regional Administrator, May coordinates preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities in Region IV's eight states. Mr. May also manages the transition recovery offices throughout the region.


As Deputy Regional Administrator, Samaan assists the Regional Administrator in coordinating preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation activities in Region IV's eight states and recovery offices. He assumes all Regional Administrator duties in the Regional Administrator's absence.


Hudak oversees the External Affairs operations for the region, including Community Relations, Public Information, Congressional Affairs, Private Sector and Intergovernmental Outreach.


Yearwood assists the Regional Administrator, handling a variety of special projects that arise in the Region.


Taylor is responsible for policy analysis and coordination; cross-divisional synthesis; strategic and operating plan development; and organizational performance management.


Region IV Contact Information   

General Contacts

Telephone Numbers:
Main Number: 770-220-5200
Fax Number: 770-220-5230

Mailing Address:
Federal Emergency Management Agency
3003 Chamblee Tucker Road
Atlanta, GA 30341

Media Inquiries: 770-220-5226

Employment: William.Wood1; or, go to

Freedom of Information Act Officer:

Mary Barnes, Mission Support Division
E-Mail: Mary.Barnes 
Telephone: 770-220-5482

Last Updated: 
04/15/2014 - 10:51