National Mitigation Framework

Main Content

The purpose of this page is to provide information on the National Mitigation Framework. The National Incident Management System is intended to be used by the whole community. The intended audience for this page is individuals, families, communities, the private and nonprofit sectors, faith-based organizations, and local, state, tribal, territorial, insular area, and Federal governments.

National Mitigation Framework

We cannot control when or where a tornado strikes—but we can save lives and reduce property damage by understanding the risks and taking action to address those risks. In the process, we help our families and increase resilience in our community, environment and economy.

Fostering a culture of preparedness—centered on risk and resilience—is what the first edition of the National Mitigation Framework is all about. The document provides context for how the whole community works together and how mitigation efforts relate to all other parts of national preparedness.

It is one of the five documents in a suite of National Planning Frameworks. Each Framework covers one preparedness mission area: Prevention, Protection, Mitigation, Response or Recovery.


Focus on Resilient Communities

The Mitigation Framework covers the capabilities necessary to reduce the loss of life and property by lessening the impact of disasters.

The Framework focuses on understanding the risks we face, as well as empowering communities to take actions that put them in the best position to bounce back quickly and effectively when disasters occur. This focus on risk and resilience is why the Mitigation Framework permeates all other areas of national preparedness—from prevention to recovery.

The Mitigation and Protection Frameworks both focus on activities we can do every day, not just during disasters. Protection, however, focuses on security and deterrence of threats, while Mitigation is about creating resiliency by addressing risk and creating a culture of preparedness.

The Mitigation Framework emphasizes the valuable role of local leadership, collaboration among various parts of the whole community and education—to ensure the capabilities continually develop.

Mitigation Core Capabilities

Core capabilities are the distinct elements needed to achieve the National Preparedness Goal. The Mitigation Framework describes each of its seven core capabilities and lists critical tasks for each one. The capabilities, followed by a critical task example, are listed below.

  • Threats and Hazard Identification. Build cooperation between private and public sectors by protecting internal interests but sharing threats and hazard identification resources and benefits. 
  • Risk and Disaster Resilience Assessment. Perform credible risk assessments using scientifically valid and widely used risk assessment techniques.
  • Planning. Incorporate the findings from assessment of risk and disaster resilience into the planning process.
  • Community Resilience. Recognize the interdependent nature of the economy, health and social services, housing infrastructure and natural and cultural resources within a community.
  • Public Information and Warning. Target messages to reach organizations representing children, individuals with disabilities or access and functional needs, diverse communities and people with limited English proficiency. 
  • Long-Term Vulnerability Reduction. Adopt and enforce a suitable building code to ensure resilient construction.
  • Operational Coordination. Capitalize on opportunities for mitigation actions following disasters and incidents.
Last Updated: 
03/19/2015 - 14:26
Back to Top