Hazard Mitigation Assistance Mitigation Activity Chart

Main Content

This page contains the Hazard Mitigation Assistance Program mitigation activity eligibility chart which is relevant for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP), Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM), and Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) FMA grant programs.

Eligible Activities by Program

The Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) Mitigation Activity Eligibility chart lists eligible mitigation activity types for the HMA grant programs.  A checked box (√) indicates activity eligibility under a program.  A grayed box indicates activity ineligibility under a program.  Submission of an eligible activity type does not guarantee an award by FEMA. 

For further definition of the activity types below, please see the eligible activity section of the HMA guidance or contact your FEMA Regional office

Eligible Activities by Program

Eligible Activities




1.   Mitigation Projects

Property Acquisition and Structure Demolition

Property Acquisition and Structure Relocation

Structure Elevation

Mitigation Reconstruction

Dry Floodproofing of Historic Residential Structures

Dry Floodproofing of Non-residential Structures



Localized Flood Risk Reduction Projects

Non-Localized Flood Risk Reduction Projects


Structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings

Non-structural Retrofitting of Existing Buildings and Facilities

Safe Room Construction


Wind Retrofit for One- and Two-Family Residences


Infrastructure Retrofit

Soil Stabilization

Wildfire Mitigation


Post-Disaster Code Enforcement



5 Percent Initiative Projects



Advance Assistance



5 Percent Initiative Projects


Miscellaneous/Other (1)

2. Hazard Mitigation Planning

3. Management Costs

             (1) Miscellaneous/Other indicates that any proposed action will be evaluated on its
              own merit against program requirements. Eligible projects will be approved
              provided funding is available.
Last Updated: 
06/17/2015 - 10:11
Back to Top