Flood Mitigation Assistance Program

Main Content

The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) program provides funds for projects to reduce or eliminate risk of flood damage to buildings that are insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) on an annual basis.

There are three types of FMA grants available to Applicants:

  • Planning Grants - to prepare flood mitigation plans
  • Project Grants - to implement measures to reduce flood losses, such as elevation, acquisition or relocation of NFIP-insured structures
  • Management Cost Grants - for the grantee to help administer the FMA program and activities

Eligible Applicants

  • States
  • Territories
  • Commonwealths
  • Indian Tribal Government

Eligible Subapplicants

  • State Agencies
  • Indian Tribal Governments
  • Local Goverments/Communities

*Individual homeowners and businesses may not apply directly to the program.  Please contact your local community official. 

New Updates from the FMA Program

05/09/2014 - The FMA Fact Sheet is now available in the FEMA library.

04/17/2014 – Beginning on April 21, 2014 FEMA will be accepting applications for the 2014 FMA program.  The Fiscal Year 2013 Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified Guidance is still the current guidance for FMA..

04/04/2014 – A new update of the Benefit-Cost Analysis Toolkit (version 5.0) is in effect starting April 4, 2014.

Contact Information

For your local FEMA Office: FEMA Regional Offices
For your state official that oversees mitigation:  State Hazard Mitigation Officer (SHMO)


Last Updated: 
09/16/2014 - 11:43
Back to Top