Main Content

Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant Program

This is the Flood Mitigation Assistance Grant Program (FMA) homepage. The purpose of this page is to provide general information on the FMA program.

General Program Information

The FMA program is authorized by Section 1366 of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968, as amended with the goal of reducing or eliminating claims under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). FMA provides funding to States, Territories, federally-recognized tribes and local communities for projects that reduce or eliminate long-term risk of flood damage to structures insured under the NFIP. FMA funding is available for flood hazard mitigation projects, plan development and management costs. Funding is appropriated by Congress annually.

Please refer to the current program guidance for detail information on the Flood Mitigation Assistance Program. The program guidance can be viewed here:


Below is a flowchart showing the process individual homeowners, businesses, subapplicants and applicants must go through in order to apply for FMA grants and how this process leads to FEMA.

Flow chart shows relationship between homeowner, subapplicant, applicant and FEMA

Generally, local communities will sponsor applications on behalf of homeowners and then submit the applications to their State.  All FMA grant applications must be submitted to FEMA by a State, U.S. Territory, or federal-recognized tribe.

The following is a list of governments and organizations that can sponsor an application:

  • States
  • Territories
  • Federally-recognized tribes
  • Local communities

Fiscal Year 2015 Application Cycle

FEMA has completed its review of the Fiscal Year 2015 Flood Mitigation Assistance Program applications and has made selections based on the agency’s priorities and available funding. FEMA will not send notification letters to each applicant regarding their status. Rather, applicants should review the FY 2015 FMA Subapplication Status online.

FEMA anticipates opening the FY 2016 FMA application cycle when funding is received by Congress.  Additional information will be provided once available. 

Application Process

Subapplicants submit mitigation planning and project subapplications to their State during the open application cycle. After reviewing project applications to determine if they meet the program’s requirements, the States, territories, or federally-recognized tribal governments prioritizes and forward the applications to their FEMA Regional Office.

Once, the FEMA Regional Office reviews the application for eligibility and completeness, it is then forwarded to FEMA Headquarters where the final funding decision will be made.  Funding is limited and FEMA Headquarters must make difficult decisions as to the most effective use of grant funds.

FEMA awards FMA funds to State, U.S. Territory, and Federal-recognized tribal Applicants, who in-turn provide subawards to local government subapplicants.

Please contact your State Hazard Mitigation Officer, or federally-recognized tribal/local government official to obtain detailed information on the FMA application process.

Please note that the FMA program is a highly competitive grant program and FEMA chooses the applications to be funded based on the Applicant’s ranking of the project and the eligibility and cost-effectiveness of the project.


Last Updated: 
10/30/2015 - 13:42