alert - warning

This page has not been translated into 简体中文. Visit the 简体中文 page for resources in that language.

Alabama Disaster Survivors Can Apply for FEMA Assistance

Release Date:
十二月 22, 2021

ATLANTA – Residents of Jefferson and Shelby counties in Alabama who were affected by the severe storms and flooding that occurred Oct. 6-7, 2021, may apply for FEMA disaster assistance.

President Joseph Biden approved a major disaster declaration on Dec. 21. Residents in the designated counties can apply online at, by calling 800-621-3362, or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service. When you apply, you will need to provide:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted.
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying.
  • Your Social Security Number.
  • A general list of damage and losses.
  • Banking information if you choose direct deposit.
  • If insured, the policy number or the agent and/or the company name.


If you have homeowners or renter’s insurance, you must also file a claim with your insurance company. FEMA cannot duplicate benefits for losses covered by insurance. You will need to provide your insurance claim information to FEMA to determine eligibility for federal assistance.

Take photos to document damage and begin cleanup and repairs to prevent further damage. Remember to keep receipts from all purchases related to the cleanup and repair.

Disaster assistance may include financial help with temporary lodging and home repairs, along with other programs to assist those recovering from the storms.

For more information about Alabama disaster recovery, visit Follow the FEMA Region 4 Twitter account at