U.S. flag


Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

alert - warning

此页面尚未翻译成[简体中文. 前往 简体中文 页面以该语言获取资源。

Recovery Update – Kentucky Storms

Release Date:
July 8, 2021

FEMA Individual Assistance Registration Deadline Extended to July 23

At the request of Gov. Beshear, FEMA has extended the deadline for severe-storm survivors to register for help. The deadline to apply is now July 23.

Homeowners and renters affected by severe flooding in 31 counties are encouraged to register. These are Anderson, Breathitt, Boyd, Clark, Clay, Estill, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Greenup, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Madison, Magoffin, Martin, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Warren and Woodford.

Individual Assistance for homeowners and renters may include grants to help pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other serious disaster-related expenses not met by insurance or other assistance programs.

The fastest and easiest way to apply is by visiting www.disasterassistance.gov

If it is not possible to register online, download the FEMA app and apply on your smartphone or tablet, or call 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585). The toll-free telephone lines operate from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. seven days a week. Those who use a relay service such as a videophone, Innocaption or CapTel should update FEMA with their specific number assigned to that service.

You should have the following information available to register:

  • Address of the damaged primary dwelling where damage occurred
  • Current mailing address, telephone number and Social Security number
  • Your insurance information
  • Total household annual income
  • Routing and account numbers for checking or savings accounts so FEMA may directly transfer disaster assistance funds, and
  • A general description of disaster damage and losses.

SBA disaster loans are one of the largest sources of federal disaster recovery funds for survivors. Submitting the SBA application makes it possible for homeowners and renters to be considered for additional FEMA grants.

Applicants may apply online using SBA’s secure website at https://www.sba.gov/page/disaster-loan-applications or they may email FOCE-Help@SBA.gov for more information on SBA’s disaster assistance program.

Applicants may also call SBA’s Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 or email disastercustomerservice@sba.gov for more information on SBA disaster assistance. Individuals who are deaf or hard‑of‑hearing may call 800-877-8339.

Get tips on hiring a contractor for home repair at Tips for Hiring a Contractor for Home Repair (fema.gov).

Recovery Progress – More than $29 million provided in Kentucky

  • FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program has paid more than $19 million in flood insurance claims in Kentucky. Some 632 claims have been submitted. A major disaster declaration is not required for flood-insurance claims, which may be submitted from any county.  
  • For losses not covered by insurance, FEMA has approved nearly $6 million in Individual Assistance disaster grants for Kentucky homeowners and renters. Grants may help survivors with rent, home repairs, home replacement and other disaster- related needs such as personal property, childcare, and medical and dental expenses. More than 1,000 households have been approved.  
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved 99 low-interest disaster loans for more than $4.3 million.

Find out more at Steps to Take When Applying with FEMA | FEMA.gov

Videos about FEMA Assistance with closed captioning and American Sign Language interpretation available here.

For more information on Kentucky’s disaster recovery, visit https://kyem.ky.gov and www.fema.gov/disaster/4595. You may also follow FEMA on www.facebook.com/fema and  Twitter @FEMARegion4.