U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.

Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.

The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

About Us

Our mission is to help people before, during and after disasters
Illustration of the U.S. Flag on the world globe showing North America
alert - warning

This page has not been translated into 简体中文. Visit the 简体中文 page for resources in that language.

At FEMA, we employ more than 20,000 people nationwide. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., we have 10 regional offices located across the country. We leverage a tremendous capacity to coordinate within the federal government to make sure America is equipped to prepare for and respond to disasters.

Mission And History

FEMA Today

Department of Homeland Security Seal

FEMA’s mission is to help people before, during and after disasters, and our guiding principles help us achieve it.

Strategic Plan

We’ve developed our 2018-2022 Strategic Plan to achieve three overarching goals.

Stafford Act

The Stafford Act constitutes authority for most federal disaster response activities.

Pub 1

Publication One (Pub 1) helps us understand our role in the emergency management community and gives our agency direction in how we conduct ourselves each day.

History of FEMA


FEMA was officially created in 1979 through an executive order by President Jimmy Carter. Our history can be traced as far back as 1803.

On March 1, 2003, FEMA became part of the Department of Homeland Security. Learn more about our history.


FEMA is comprised of Program Offices and Regional Offices located throughout the United States.

Our workforce can swell to over 50,000 active members during major disasters.

Learn more about joining FEMA in Careers.

States, Regions, Tribes and Territories

See disaster declarations, news and contact information by state, region, tribe and territory.

Tribal Affairs Resources

Region 1 | CT, ME, MA, NH, RI, VT

Region 2 | NJ, NY, PR, VI

Region 3 | DE, MD, PA, VA, DC, WV

Region 4 | AL, FL, GA, KY, MS, NC, SC, TN

Region 5 | IL, IN, MI, MN, OH, WI

Region 6 | AK, LA, NM, OK, TX

Region 7 | IA, KS, MO, NE

Region 8 | CO, MT, ND, SD, UT, WY

Region 9 | AZ, CA, HI, NV, the Pacific Islands

Region 10 | AK, ID, OR, WA


FEMA has several publicly available newsletters that we email to subscribers. The newsletters range from information for emergency managers to location or region specific material for the general public in that area.


When you subscribe to a newsletter, we ask for your email address and then you select all the newsletters you would like to subscribe to from a list. Your email address will only be used to deliver the information you've requested and allows you to access your GovDelivery account. Learn more in our Privacy Policy.

You can change or cancel your subscriptions at any time.