alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Tiếng Việt. Visit the Tiếng Việt page for resources in that language.

BRIC Direct Technical Assistance

Who is Eligible

General Form Instructions

How Assistance is Prioritized

Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities Direct Technical Assistance (BRIC DTA) provides tailored support to communities and tribal nations that may not have the resources to begin climate resilience planning and project solution design on their own. Through process-oriented, hand-in-hand assistance, BRIC DTA will partner with communities interested in enhancing their capability and capacity to design holistic, equitable hazard mitigation solutions that advance community-driven objectives.

FEMA will offer wide-ranging non-financial support to BRIC DTA communities, including climate risk assessments, community engagement, partnership building, and mitigation and climate adaptation planning. Support for BRIC DTA communities can range from pre-application activities to grant closeout.

Illustration of a megaphone

Fiscal Year 2023 BRIC DTA Request Period

Interested communities and tribes are asked to submit a BRIC Direct Technical Assistance Request Form to be considered for this the next cycle of selections. There is no requirement for a previous BRIC grant sub-application or award, or an approved hazard mitigation plan, to be considered for selection.

The open period to submit the form is Oct. 16, 2023, through Feb. 29, 2024. Completed forms can be emailed to the BRIC Direct Technical Assistance inbox.

Download the Form

PDF Link Icon

Who Is Eligible

  • Cities
  • Towns/Townships
  • Parishes
  • Boroughs
  • Counties
  • Special District Governments
  • Federally recognized tribal nations
  • Groups of two or more communities that fit the above criteria
  • Territories
alert - info

BRIC Direct Technical Assistance Communities
There are currently 74 communities and tribes receiving support from BRIC DTA Fiscal Year 2020, 2021 and 2022. Read more about their locations and requests here.

General Form Instructions

Please answer all questions unless otherwise indicated.

Community Details and Contact Information

The following questions are optional:

  • Are you a federally recognized tribal government(s)/entity?
  • Are you a non-federally recognized tribal government(s)/entity?
  • Does your community have or participate in a Hazard Mitigation Plan?
  • Name the Hazard Mitigation Plan in which your community or communities participate(s).

Hazard Identification

This section is optional.

BRIC DTA Support

Per the FY23 BRIC Notices of Funding Opportunities, as a prerequisite to eligibility, FEMA requires that technical assistance recipients identify at least two potential community partners.

Please list ongoing and/or potential partnerships in this section.

The following question is optional:

  • Please provide a brief description of proposed deliverables and timelines, including duration of technical assistance.


General questions about the BRIC program can be directed to the appropriate State Hazard Mitigation Officer or FEMA Regional Office.

How Assistance is Prioritized

FEMA will review each request and will prioritize assistance for communities that meet one or more of the definitions below:

  • Are considered disadvantaged, as noted in Executive Order (EO) 14008, Tackling the Climate Crisis at Home and Abroad, including tribal nation governments
  • Qualify as an Economically Disadvantaged Rural Community (EDRC). (This definition is in Title 42 United States Code § 5133(a) as a small impoverished community.) An EDRC is any community of 3,000 or fewer individuals, where residents have an average per capita annual income that does not exceed 80% of the national per capita income. It is based on best available data.
  • Have shown a compelling need. This includes communities with disadvantaged populations as referenced in EO 14008; multiple major disaster declarations within the past five years; limited funds; and strong community engagement, but that need technical expertise.
  • Have not received a grant award, including Advance Assistance or Capability- and Capacity-Building subaward under Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) and/or BRICFlood Mitigation Assistance (FMA), or  Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) awards within the past five years.
This graphic provides an overview of BRIC DTA Milestones for communities. The process starts with a community submitting a request for assistance. Once selected, FEMA schedules a kickoff meeting and then the community signs a memorandum of understanding (MOU). Once the MOU is signed, BRIC Direct Technical Assistance delivery begins, and FEMA works with the community to develop a Needs Assessment and Action Plan that becomes the roadmap for DTA delivery.
Download this infographic