U.S. flag

Một trang web chính thức của Chính Phủ Hoa Kỳ

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

alert - warning

Trang này chưa được dịch sang tiếng Tiếng Việt. Truy cập trang được dịch sang tiếng Tiếng Việt để xem các tài nguyên hỗ trợ theo ngôn ngữ này.


The National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 prohibits FEMA from providing flood insurance in a community unless the community adopts and enforces floodplain management regulations that meet or exceed minimum NFIP criteria. A community can be suspended from the NFIP for failure to adopt compliant floodplain management measures or if it repeals or amends previously compliant floodplain management measures. A community can also be suspended from the NFIP for failure to enforce its floodplain management regulations.

New flood insurance coverage cannot be purchased and policies cannot be renewed in a suspended community. In addition, three-year policies become void at the end of the current policy year with a pro rata refund given for any remaining years of the original three-year policy term.

National Flood Insurance Program Requirements

  • 59.24 - Suspension of community eligibility
    • (a) Suspension for Failure to Adopt Regulations
    • (c) Suspension for Failure to Enforce Regulations
Glossary Section
NFIP - National Flood Insurance Program