Main Content

Tribal Consultation Policy Update

The current Tribal Consultation Policy, first issued in 2014, is available for comment. Comments received during the tribal consultation period (June 1 to August 29, 2017) will guide how FEMA conducts tribal consultation on policy and actions that impact tribes.

Due to the new format requirement, the current Tribal Consultation Policy will be split into two documents: the Policy with the accompanying Instructions. The example policy and instruction documents are provided to show tribes how the new policy will be formatted. Comments and feedback received during the consultation period will be used to draft the policy into the two documents: the Policy with the accompanying instructions.

For consistency, we suggest you provide your comments on the current policy. However, you may choose to provide comments on any of the documents during this consultation period.

Note: FEMA’s Tribal Consultation is separate from the Tribal Policy. The Tribal Policy establishes how the agency engages with federally recognized tribes generally and the Tribal Consultation Policy defines the agency' process for formal outreach under Executive Order 13175.

Timeline

Tribal consultation on the FEMA Consultation Policy will run from June 1st through August 29th, 2017.

During this period, feedback may be submitted to:

  • the Tribal Consultation Coordinator via the National Tribal Affairs Advisor;
  • the Regional Tribal Liaisons;
  • directly to tribalconsultation@fema.dhs.gov;
  • or via U.S. Mail to:
    • Margeau Valteau, Office of External Affairs/Tribal Branch, DHS/FEMA, 500 C Street SW, MS 3193, Washington, DC 20472

FEMA will present at conferences and association meetings, host webinars and conference calls; announce on regularly scheduled calls with stakeholders through the consultation period.

National Webinars and Conference calls will be held:

          June 22, 2017, 3:00 PM EST (2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PST)

          July 26, 2017, 3:00 PM EST (2:00 PM CST, 1:00 PM MST, 12:00 PST)

Please join the webinar through Adobe Connect: https://fema.connectsolutions.com/tribal_consultation_webinar/

A dial-in line is also available: 1-800-320-4330 pin 849137. Lines are limited; Adobe Connect audio is highly encouraged.

If you have any questions on the webinar, please email: tribalconsultation@fema.dhs.gov
Last Updated: 
07/12/2019 - 18:42