alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Swahili. Visit the Swahili page for resources in that language.

Direct Technical Assistance Communities

Through the Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities Direct Technical Assistance (BRIC DTA) initiative, FEMA can provide holistic hazard mitigation planning and project support at the earliest stages to communities, tribes and territories requesting assistance. This non-financial assistance helps communities to reduce disaster damage, build community resilience and sustain successful mitigation programs.

During the process, FEMA will engage with each community to further explore and better understand their specific requests for technical assistance. FEMA will provide support to selected communities for up to 36 months.

Illustration of a megaphone

FY22 Direct Technical Assistance Selections

On May 19, FEMA announced the selection of 46 communities and tribal nations for Building Resilient Infrastructure and Communities (BRIC) Direct Technical Assistance. This assistance can provide holistic hazard mitigation and climate resilience planning and project support from the earliest stages to completion.

To date, this brings this hands-on support to 74 local jurisdictions nationwide.

For additional information about the non-financial direct technical assistance listed below, please contact your FEMA Regional Office.

The graphic below is a map of the United States that shows all 74 communities and tribal nations selected for BRIC DTA between fiscal years 2020 and 2022.

This map shows the communities and tribal nations that received DTA funding in fiscal years 2020-2022.
Access the full-sized image.

Summaries of Requested Direct Technical Assistance

Filter by the year the assistance was awarded, and/or by state or region, to find communities.