Main Content

State of Arizona

Arizona is located in the southwest of the mainland United States, and borders the Region IX states of California and Nevada. Arizona is in time zone UTC/GMT-7, and does not use Daylight Savings Time (DST). The Navajo Indian Reservation in the far northwest part of the state is also in UTC/GMT-7 and uses DST. Phoenix is the state capital.

The Mogollon Rim, an escarpment of cliffs and canyons, divides Arizona. To the north is the Colorado Plateau with species characteristic of the Rocky Mountains. To the south is Sonoran scrubland desert with species characteristic of the Mexican Sierra Madre.

In sudden flash floods, fast flowing water from the mountains floods the desert and threatens communities. Road and bridge washouts are common during floods, and rebuilding can jeopardize wildlife habitat near streams. Intense summer heat and drought make the Arizona desert particularly susceptible to high winds and wildland and urban fires.

Federal Environmental Requirements and Agencies

Compliance with the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) and other federal laws is required for obligation of FEMA funds. FEMA's Region 9 Environmental Office consults with the following agencies and others as needed:

State of Arizona Environmental Requirements and Agencies

The State of Arizona is responsible for compliance with State laws and regulations. The following are links to helpful state agencies and resources for environmental compliance:

Environmental Issues

Endagered species include the Southwestern willow flycatcher, yellow-billed Cuckoo, Mexican gray wolf, black-footed ferret, lesser long-nosed bat, Gila chub, Gila topminnow, razorback sucker, and desert pupfish. For a full list of threatened and endangered plant and animal species in Arizona, visit the US Fish and Wildlife Service website. Each Tribal reservation also protects its own endangered species.

Beetle-infested trees can fuel devastating wild fires, particularly in the desert heat.

Historic and Cultural Preservation Issues

Arizona has numerous historic properties and archaeological sites listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Programmatic Agreement for Historic Places

The Programmatic Agreement between FEMA, the Arizona State Historic Preservation Office (SHPO), the Arizona Division of Emergency Management, and the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) assures that FEMA considers the effects its actions on Arizona's prehistoric and historic sites, while at the same time minimizing delays in project funding and implementation.

Last Updated: 
08/09/2016 - 12:46