alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Albanian. Visit the Albanian page for resources in that language.


Find definitions for commonly used terms in the grant application and administration process.

List of Terms and Phrases

Expected life of the dam

Estimated number of years the rehabilitation will be effective. Major infrastructure, like dams, typically has a 50-100-year projected service life.

Routine operation and maintenance

Activities performed to prevent deterioration of structures and equipment to keep a dam in a safe and functioning condition throughout the expected life of the dam. These activities can be a scheduled or recurring action outlined in the Operation and Maintenance Plan or performed after an inspection reveals an unusual observation that requires corrective restoration. Identifying and correcting problems before they become serious is part of routine operation and maintenance. Typical routine operation and maintenance activities can include (but are not limited to) mowing, removal of woody vegetation, addressing erosion, repairing concrete structures, replacement of equipment and gates, and servicing gates.

Unacceptable risk to the public

For purposes of this HHPD Grant Program, the determination of unacceptable risk to the public is to be made by the state/territory dam safety program, the agency of the state/territory that is authorized by state statute to manage the state/territory participation in the National Dam Safety Program.

A dam poses unacceptable risk to the public when the dam requires remediation or risk reduction measures due to deficiencies caused by inadequate dam design, construction methods, or the results of inadequate operation and maintenance.

For a dam to be considered an unacceptable risk to the public for funding under the HHPD Grant Program, it must meet all the following conditions:

  • Does not meet the minimum dam safety standards of the state/territory (not including routine operations and maintenance actions).
  • State/territory dam safety program has documented the deficiencies at the dam that must be reduced, eliminated, or mitigated.
  • Official Regulatory Notice (see definition) of the determination of the documented deficiency(s) has been communicated to the dam owner to address the unacceptable risk to the public to implement interim risk reduction measures until permanent risk reduction measures are implemented in a manner that is acceptable to the state/territory. Official Regulatory Notice must be on official state or state dam safety program letterhead and may include official citations issued from the state dam safety program to the dam owner.

Official regulatory notice

A specific Dam Safety Deficiency (meeting the NID definition) is recognized and cannot be resolved with routine maintenance. The state dam safety agency has issued an official regulatory notice to the dam owner that includes all of the following elements:

  • The dam owner is notified of the specific deficiency and a regulatory requirement to immediately implement risk-reduction measures. (Required risk-reduction measures may include activities such as hiring an engineer to conduct risk-based failure mode studies, design of risk-reduction measures, construction of risk-reduction measures, or other actions.)
  • The regulatory notice indicates whether temporary risk-reduction measures (such as reservoir restrictions) are required.
  • The regulatory notice indicates a specific time allowance for the completion of the risk-reduction measures.
  • The regulatory notice includes a statement of the state dam safety’s authority to issue regulatory actions and/or specific regulatory enforcement actions for failure to comply.

"Receipt of the fund" as referenced in the NOFO

“Receipt of fund” is referencing when the SAA can expect to see the funds loaded for draw down as you deem appropriate. “Receipt of the funds” occurs either when the SAA accepts the award or 15 calendar days after the SAA receives notice of the award, whichever is earlier.

Eligible subrecipient

Non-federal governmental organizations (other than the designated applicant) or a non-profit organization that can meet the cost-sharing requirements of no less than 35 percent.