alert - warning

This page has not been translated into Kirundi. Visit the Kirundi page for resources in that language.

Earthquake Risk

The National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP) leads the federal government’s efforts to reduce the fatalities, injuries and property losses caused by earthquakes. Congress established NEHRP in 1977, directing that four federal agencies coordinate their complementary activities to implement and maintain the program. These agencies are:

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
  • National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST)
  • National Science Foundation (NSF)
  • U.S. Geological Survey (USGS)

NEHRP also partners with state and local governments, universities, research centers, professional societies and trade associations and businesses.

Learn more about the National Earthquake Hazards Reduction Program (NEHRP).

Illustration of documents fearing factsheet (checkmark), graphics, and download documents

Latest Publication Release

Recommendations for Cordoning Earthquake-Damaged Buildings
FEMA P-2055-2| December 2023

Looking for other materials? Visit our Earthquake publication library.

Manage Earthquake Risk

alert - info

Mitigation Best Practices: Read about examples of real earthquake risk-reduction projects, some of which were funded through the earthquake-relevant assistance programs.

Email Updates

Sign up for our newsletter to stay up to date on new earthquake resources, events, and more by entering your email below. Don't forget to confirm your subscription in the follow up email.