Main Content

Region VII: IA, KS, MO, NE

FEMA Region VII serves the states of Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska and this page provides an overview of our operations.

Regional Characteristics

FEMA Region VII administers FEMA programs and coordinates federal disaster response in Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, and Nebraska. Our office is located in Kansas City, Missouri at the geographic center of the four-state region. Roughly 90 percent of the region's more than 13.5 million residents are within approximately four hours' driving time, allowing for a quick response by employees and the deployment of resources to disaster sites throughout the region. Regional staff work as a team with state, local, and tribal governments as well as non-profit groups, private sector, and other key stakeholders.


Downtown Kansas City, Missouri
Photo of Union Station in downtown Kansas City, Missouri.

Who We Are

FEMA Region VII currently employs 220 individuals at its regional office. Staff members are responsible for administering FEMA-related programs at the regional level and they provide immediate response to disasters in the region. During times of disaster, the region can draw from a workforce of more than 6,000 Reservists who are experienced in areas ranging from the delivery of disaster assistance to public information and more.

What We Do

From our offices in Kansas City, we work in partnership with tribal, state and local emergency management officials, as well as non-governmental and private sector partners, to protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

FEMA's work is done by six divisions. Learn more about the Region VII Divisions: Response, Recovery, Mitigation, National Preparedness, Grants and Mission Support.

Disaster Declarations

Recently, the region has experienced disaster declarations for tornadoes, flooding, severe weather and winter storms. After a Presidentially Declared Disaster, a unique Web page is created to deliver information specific to that disaster to survivors during response and recovery efforts. Go to the Disaster Declarations page for more information on current and past declarations.

Get more from FEMA!

Read news releases from the Region VII office.

Resources for residents: Find your state emergency management agency--Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska.

Social media: To find out the latest buzz on what's happening with local disasters and in the FEMA Region VII office, follow us on Twitter.

You may also want to check out the FEMA blog,  or see a complete list of all official FEMA social media accounts.

Use your smart phone to prepare for emergencies! Get the new smartphone app from FEMA. It contains preparedness information for different types of disasters, an interactive checklist for emergency kits, a section to plan emergency meeting locations, information on how to stay safe and recover after a disaster, a map with FEMA Disaster Recovery Center locations (one-stop centers where disaster survivors can access key relief services) and Shelters, general ways the public can get involved before and after a disaster, and the FEMA blog. Terms of Use for FEMA app. Download it now.

As a reminder, during a crisis local emergency officials provide the most relevant and timely information. FEMA is a support agency that assists states that request help, as possible, in accordance with the laws that govern it.

Contact Region VII

You may contact our office by calling 816-283-7061.

Tell us what you think: Should you wish to comment on any of the content on our regional web pages, you may do so by sending an email.

Last Updated: 
03/04/2020 - 13:08