Main Content

Region III: Recovery Division


The Recovery Division is responsible for managing programs that provide federal assistance to individuals and families and assist communities in recovering as a result of a federal disaster declaration.


Individual Assistance Branch

The Individual Assistance Branch provides individuals and households with various types of assistance to meet disaster-related needs not covered by insurance or other funding sources for recovery.

Individual Disaster assistance includes the Individuals and Households Program (IHP) and Other Needs Assistance (ONA), in addition to other programs.

Individuals and Households Program (IHP)

  • Temporary Housing
  • Lodging Expenses Reimbursement
  • Repair
  • Replacement
  • Permanent or Semi-permanent Housing Construction

Other Needs Assistance (ONA)

ONA may provide assistance for disaster-caused:

  • Child care expenses;
  • Medical / Dental expenses;
  • Funeral / burial expenses;
  • Essential household items (i.e. appliances);
  • Fuel for primary heat source'
  • Damage to an essential vehicle; and
  • other expenses authorized by law.

For more information, please visit the links below.

Public Assistance Branch

FEMA's Public Assistance program provides state and local governmental entities and certain private non-profit organizations with disaster grant assistance for emergency actions and the repair, replacement or restoration of disaster-damaged facilities not covered by insurance or other funding sources for recovery.

Eligible Public Assistance work is classified into the following categories:

Emergency Work

Category A: Debris Removal

Category B: Emergency Protective Measures

Permanent Work

Category C: Roads and bridges

Category D: Water control facilities

Category E: Public buildings and contents

Category F: Public utilities

Category G: Parks, recreational, and other facilities

For additional details visit FEMA’s Public Assistance Homepage or check out the Public Assistance Program Fact sheets.

National Disaster Recovery Framework

FEMA developed the National Disaster Recovery Framework (NDRF) to coordinate long term recovery for communities impacted by disasters and to improve coordination between federal agencies in their support to states and communities. Created in line with the vision set forward in Presidential Policy Directive 8, the NDRF is the result of extensive stakeholder input and outreach in all ten FEMA regions and municipalities across the country.

The goal of the NDRF is to help build a more resilient nation – one in which individuals, communities and our economy can better withstand and rapidly recover from disasters.

For information on the NDRF and to hear from FEMA Region III's Federal Disaster Recovery Coordinator (FDRC) Kevin Snyder and Community Planning and Capacity Building Coordinator Michelle Diamond, listen to Region III's NDRF podcast.

DocumentDate of PublicationSize
Forward Recovery Newsletter - FY2019 Quarter 1October 31, 20180.75M
Forward Recovery Newsletter - FY2018 Quarter 2January 31, 20181.05M

Access and Functional Needs

Each of the 10 FEMA regions is staffed with a Regional Disability Integration Specialist who provides guidance, training, and tools for facilitating disability-inclusive emergency preparedness, response, recovery and mitigation. Regional Disability Integration Specialists work closely with the states to ensure that their disaster planning is inclusive of people with disabilities and others with access and functional needs. They work simultaneously with local nonprofit disability groups to reach the disability community encouraging them to participate in federal, state, local, and community emergency planning meetings.

For more information, please contact PJ Mattiacci, Region III's Disability Integration Specialist, at or see Contact Us.

Additional Info:

FEMA's Office of Disability Integration and Coordination (ODIC)

FEMA's Work for Accessible Emergency Management

Voluntary Agency Coordination

Voluntary Agency Liaisons (VALs) build relationships between federal, state, and tribal governments and voluntary, faith-based and community organizations. The VAL does this by:

  • Reporting to and from FEMA and other government agencies on programs of voluntary organizations active during disasters;
  • Providing information and guidance to voluntary organizations; and
  • Assisting states in strengthening state Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOADs).

To contact Region III regarding Voluntary Agency Coordination, please contact Region III's VAL Michelle Breeland at or see Contact Us.

Additional Info:

National Voluntary Organizations Active in Disasters

Volunteering and Donations Guidance


Last Updated: 
09/23/2019 - 16:12