## FEMA Assistance Available for Survivors in 30 Additional Georgia Counties

Release Date: October 1, 2024

WASHINGTON –?FEMA has made federal assistance available to Georgia residents in 30 additional counties to help those who have been affected by Hurricane Helene from Sept. 24, 2024 and continuing.

Individuals in?Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Chatham, Clinch, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Johnson, Lanier, Laurens, Lincoln, McDuffie, Montgomery, Screven, Telfair, Treutlen, Ware, Washington and Wheeler counties?may be eligible for grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help them recover from the effects of the disaster.

In addition to these counties, Appling, Brooks, Coffee, Columbia, Jefferson, Liberty, Lowndes, Pierce, Richmond, Tattnall and Toombs counties were approved earlier for this assistance.

In addition to housing expenses, survivors may be eligible for other serious disaster-related needs, such as replacement of damaged personal property and expenses for transportation, childcare, moving and storage.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated areas can begin applying for assistance by registering online at <a href="https://www.DisasterAssistance.gov">www.DisasterAssistance.gov</a>, by calling 1-800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA App. If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service.

Federal funding is also available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work in Atkinson, Bacon, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bulloch, Burke, Candler, Chatham, Clinch, Colquitt, Cook, Echols, Emanuel, Evans, Glascock, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Jenkins, Johnson, Lanier, Laurens, Lincoln, McDuffie, Montgomery, Screven, Telfair,



Page 1 of 2

Treutlen, Ware, Washington and Wheeler counties.

Appling, Brooks, Coffee, Columbia, Jefferson, Liberty, Lowndes, Pierce, Richmond, Tattnall and Toombs counties were approved earlier for this assistance.

For the latest information visit? www.fema.gov/disaster/4830.

