President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Dakota

Release Date: August 2, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Dakota to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by a severe storm, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding during the period June 11-14, 2022.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance to Butte, Haakon, Jackson, Jones, McPherson and Spink counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Alana B. Kuhn has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

