President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for South Dakota

Release Date: June 29, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced today that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of South Dakota to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by a severe storm, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding on May 12, 2022.

Federal funding is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storm, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding in Aurora, Beadle, Bon Homme, Brookings, Clay, Codington, Day, Deuel, Grant, Hamlin, Hanson, Hutchinson, Kingsbury, Lake, McCook, Miner, Minnehaha, Moody, Roberts and Turner counties, the Flandreau Santee Sioux Tribe of South Dakota and the Sisseton-Wahpeton Oyate of the Lake Traverse Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Alana B. Kuhn has been named the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

