President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Virginia

Release Date: May 10, 2021

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced federal disaster assistance has been made available to the Commonwealth of Virginia to supplement commonwealth, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe winter storms from Feb. 11-13, 2021.

Federal funding is available to commonwealth, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe winter storms in Amelia, Appomattox, Bedford, Brunswick, Campbell, Caroline, Charlotte, Cumberland, Dinwiddie, Essex, Floyd, Franklin, Goochland, Greensville, Halifax, King and Queen, King William, Lancaster, Louisa, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Middlesex, New Kent, Northumberland, Nottoway, Patrick, Pittsylvania, Powhatan, Prince Edward, Prince George and Richmond counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for the entire commonwealth.

Kevin I. Snyder has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected areas. Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.

