President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Oklahoma

Release Date: February 25, 2021

WASHINGTON — FEMA announced federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Oklahoma to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in areas affected by severe winter storms from Feb. 8-20, 2021.

The President's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Comanche, Cotton, Hughes, Jefferson, Le Flore, McIntosh, Oklahoma, Okmulgee, Osage, Pittsburg, Stephens, Tulsa and Wagoner counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Individuals and business owners who sustained losses in the designated area can begin applying for assistance by registering online at <u>www.DisasterAssistance.gov</u> or by calling 1-800-621-3362 or 1-800-462-7585 TTY.

Federal funding is also available to state, tribal, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance, statewide.

Federal funding is available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Adam D. Burpee has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations for the affected area. Additional designations may be made later if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.



Page 1 of 1