## President Donald J. Trump Approves Emergency Disaster Declaration for Mississippi

Release Date: August 24, 2020

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Mississippi to supplement state, local and tribal response efforts to the emergency conditions in the area affected by Tropical Storms Marco and Laura beginning on Aug. 23, 2020 and continuing.

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, and to provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, to protect property, public health and safety, and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize, and provide at its discretion, equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures Category B, limited to reimbursement for mass care including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided at 75 percent federal funding. This assistance is for the counties of Adams, Amite, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson.

Brett H. Howard has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected area.

