FEMA Assistance Tops $20 Million for San Diego County

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
April 3, 2024

San Diego, Calif. — FEMA and the California Governor’s Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES), along with other federal, state and local partners, have undertaken a whole community effort to support residents of San Diego County in their recovery from the Jan. 21-23, 2024 severe storm and flooding disaster. To date, FEMA and SBA have distributed over $20 million in disaster recovery assistance for survivors.

  • More than 2,427 households have been approved for FEMA grants, including:
    • $15.1 million in housing grants, including short-term rental assistance and home repair costs.
    • Nearly $3.4 million approved for other essential disaster-related needs, such as expenses related to medical expenses and lost personal possessions.
  • FEMA’s door-to-door crews have visited 13,316 households to help survivors apply for assistance.
  • Over 78% of homeowners who applied for assistance received some additional funds for mitigation efforts.
  • The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved 65 loans for $1.7 million. 

There Is Still Time to Apply

San Diego County residents have until April 19, 2024 to apply for FEMA assistance

Each DRC is accessible to people with disabilities. Assistive technology equipment is available to help disaster survivors interact with staff. Video Remote Interpreting is also available, and the centers have accessible parking, ramps and restrooms. If you need accommodations to communicate, please notify FEMA staff at the center immediately.

If you need ASL support at a DRC, please contact Aaron Kubey aaron.kubey@fema.dhs.gov in advance to schedule a date and time for an ASL interpreter to meet you there.

For the latest FEMA information on the Jan. 21-23, 2024, San Diego County severe storm and flooding, visit www.fema.gov/disaster/4758


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.

All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), sexual orientation, religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, or economic status.

Disaster Recovery Centers are protected areas designated to provide emergency response and relief for disaster survivors. U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement and U.S. Customs and Border Protection do not conduct enforcement operations at or near these locations, except in limited circumstances such as an imminent risk of death, violence, or physical harm. Additionally, FEMA will not proactively share the personal information of flood survivors with immigration or law enforcement agencies.

If you believe your civil rights are being violated, you can call the Civil Rights Resource line at 833-285-7448 (TTY 800-462-7585). Those who use a relay service such as a videophone, InnoCaption or CapTel should update FEMA with their specific number assigned to that service. Multilingual operators are available (press 2 for Spanish).

Last updated