Additional Disaster Funding Approved for Kentucky Flooding

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
July 30, 2022

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that additional disaster assistance is available to the Commonwealth of Kentucky after President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. authorized Individual Assistance as a result of severe storms, flooding, landslides and mudslides beginning on July 26, 2022, and continuing.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in Breathitt, Clay, Knott, Letcher and Perry counties.

Assistance can include grants for temporary housing and home repairs, low-cost loans to cover uninsured property losses, and other programs to help individuals and business owners recover from the effects of the disaster.

Residents and business owners who sustained losses in the designated counties can begin applying for assistance by applying online at or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362). If you use a relay service, such as video relay service (VRS), captioned telephone service or others, give FEMA the number for that service. The toll-free telephone numbers will operate seven days a week until further notice. 

Damage assessments are continuing in other areas, and more counties and additional forms of assistance may be designated after the assessments are fully completed.

Last updated July 31, 2022