FEMA Teams Assisting Washington Disaster Survivors

Release Date Release Number
DR-4635-WA NR-006
Release Date:
January 20, 2022

LACEY, WA. – FEMA specialists are working in areas impacted by the Nov. 13-15, 2021 flooding and mudslides to help disaster survivors apply for FEMA assistance and provide information about resources.

FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance teams (DSA) are working to help residents of Clallam, Skagit and Whatcom counties, including residents of the Lummi Nation, Nooksack Indian Tribe, the Quileute Nation and other tribes in the three counties who were affected by the disaster. The teams carry photo identification and never charge for assistance. FEMA specialists work with survivors to help them apply for assistance, answer questions and process case updates and inquiries.

Specialists currently are in the following location weather permitting:

  • Clallam County: FEMA has an application site at 71 N. Spartan Ave., Forks, operating from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Wednesday-Friday and 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. on Saturday, then ceasing operation.

Residents in the designated counties and tribes can apply online at disasterassistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362, or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service.

For an accessible video on how to apply for FEMA assistance, go to youtube.com/watch?v=WZGpWI2RCNw.

The Washington State Military Department’s Emergency Management Division leads and coordinates mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery in the state to minimize the impact of disasters and emergencies on the people, property, environment and economy.

For more information about Washington flood and mudslide recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4635. Follow the FEMA Region 10 Twitter account at twitter.com/femaregion10.


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.      

Last updated January 21, 2022