$1.5 Million Approved for Washington Disaster Survivors

Release Date Release Number
DR-4635-WA NR-003
Release Date:
January 15, 2022

LACEY, WA. – One week after Washington disaster survivors became eligible for federal assistance, the Washington Military Department’s Emergency Management Division and FEMA have worked together to award $1.5 million in federal grants to individuals and households.

Residents of Clallam, Skagit and Whatcom counties, including members of the Lummi Nation, Nooksack Indian Tribe and the Quileute Nation who were affected by the Nov. 13-15, 2021 floods and mudslides, can apply to FEMA for help with temporary housing expenses, basic home repairs or other essential disaster-related needs that are not covered by insurance. 

County residents and tribal members in the designated counties can apply online at disasterassistance.gov, by calling 800-621-3362 or by using the FEMA mobile app. If you use a relay service, such as video relay (VRS), captioned telephone or other service, give FEMA the number for that service.

Since the Jan. 5 major disaster declaration, the state and FEMA have coordinated to provide $1,526,454 million in federal funds to individuals and households.

FEMA Disaster Survivor Assistance teams (DSA) have been deployed to affected communities. DSA team members carry photo identification and never charge for assistance. These teams can help survivors apply for federal assistance, check the status of applications and provide information about resources.

The deadline to apply for FEMA assistance is March 7, 2022.

For an accessible video on how to apply for FEMA assistance, go to youtube.com/watch?v=WZGpWI2RCNw.

For more information about Washington flood and mudslide recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4635. Follow the FEMA Region 10 Twitter account at twitter.com/femaregion10.


FEMA’s mission is helping people before, during, and after disasters.      

Last updated January 15, 2022