Two Weeks Remain to Apply for FEMA Assistance

Release Date Release Number
DR-4607-MI NR-038
Release Date:
October 29, 2021

Detroit— Residents of Southeast Michigan, don’t get overlooked. Get the help you need.

The deadline to apply for FEMA assistance is Friday, Nov. 12, 2021, for residents of Oakland, Macomb, Washtenaw and Wayne counties who experienced damage or losses from the June 25-26 severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes.

Washtenaw and Wayne counties were designated eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program under the Major Disaster Declaration signed by President Joe Biden on July 15. Oakland and Macomb counties were added to the declaration as eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program under the amended Major Disaster Declaration on Sept. 24.

FEMA assistance may include grants for temporary housing and emergency home repairs to make your home safe, accessible and secure. FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. If you have a homeowners insurance policy, file your insurance claim before applying to FEMA. If you are underinsured, you may receive assistance after your insurance claims have been settled, as long as you apply by the deadline.

Even if you reported your damage to another agency or organization, you should still apply with FEMA if you want to be considered for federal disaster grants and U.S. Small Business Administration low-interest disaster loans.

To apply for assistance:

  • Visit Online applications must be completed no later than midnight EDT on Nov. 12.
  • Call 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). Operators are multilingual and calls are answered 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. EDT, seven days a week.
  • Use the FEMA App.

For more information about Michigan’s recovery, visit The deadline for individuals to apply for disaster assistance is Nov. 12, 2021.


Last updated