President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. Approves Emergency Declaration for Mississippi

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
August 28, 2021

WASHINGTON -- FEMA announced that federal emergency aid has been made available to the state of Mississippi to supplement state, tribal and local response efforts to the emergency conditions in the areas affected by Hurricane Ida, beginning on Aug. 28 and continuing. 

The President's action authorizes FEMA to coordinate all disaster relief efforts which have the purpose of alleviating the hardship and suffering caused by the emergency on the local population, provide appropriate assistance for required emergency measures, authorized under Title V of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, to save lives, protect property, public health and safety and to lessen or avert the threat of a catastrophe.  

Specifically, FEMA is authorized to identify, mobilize and provide at its discretion, the equipment and resources necessary to alleviate the impacts of the emergency. Emergency protective measures, including direct federal assistance and reimbursement for mass care, including evacuation and shelter support, will be provided at 75% federal funding. This assistance is for Adams, Amite, Covington, Forrest, Franklin, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, Jones, Lamar, Lawrence, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone, Walthall, Wayne and Wilkinson counties and the Mississippi Band of Choctaw Indians.

Thomas J. McCool has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal response operations in the affected areas.  

Last updated