U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Tennessee Survivors in 3 Counties May Now Apply for FEMA Disaster Assistance

Release Date Release Number
R4 DR-4601-TN NR 001
Release Date:
May 11, 2021

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Homeowners and renters in three counties that suffered damage from the recent severe storms, tornadoes and flooding may now apply to FEMA for disaster assistance. Survivors may be eligible to receive assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from the storms.

Under the major disaster declaration approved by President Biden, Davidson, Williamson and Wilson counties were designated as eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program. Damage and losses from the storms, tornadoes and flooding must have occurred March 25 through April 3.

If you have a homeowner’s insurance policy, file your insurance claim immediately. The faster you file, the faster your recovery can begin.

The deadline to apply for federal disaster assistance is Wednesday, July 7. There are several ways to apply:

  • Download FEMA’s mobile app. For information, go to: fema.gov/mobile-app.
  • Visit DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). Multilingual operators are available, and lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. Central Time. Those who use a relay service such as a videophone, InnoCaption or CapTel should provide FEMA with their specific phone number assigned to that service.

You will need to have the following available when you apply:

  • A current phone number where you can be reached;
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
  • Your Social Security number;
  • A general list of damage and losses; and
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent and company name.

If you cannot return to your home or you are unable to live in your home, visit DisasterAssistance.gov, or call the FEMA Helpline to determine what federal, state, local or voluntary agency assistance may be available to you.

If you can return to your home and it is safe, has working power, water and sewer or septic service, visit DisasterAssistance.gov to determine if state, voluntary and local organizations in your community can address any unmet needs.

Disaster assistance may provide temporary help and a place to stay while you build your own recovery plan. Although the federal government cannot make you whole, it may be able to help your recovery move forward by providing grants for basic repairs to make your home safe, accessible and secure. FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, those without insurance, or those who may be underinsured, may still receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Long-term, low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration are available to homeowners, renters, businesses of all sizes and some nonprofit organizations to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance. If you are referred to SBA, you may apply online via the SBA’s secure website at Disasterloan.sba.gov, call the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing), or send an e-mail to DisasterCustomerService@sba.gov.

Federal funding is also available under FEMA’s Public Assistance program to state, tribal and local governments, and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis. The funding covers eligible expenses for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the March 25 to April 3 severe storms, tornadoes and flooding. Counties eligible to apply for the PA program are: Campbell, Cannon, Cheatham Claiborne, Clay, Davidson, Decatur, Fentress, Grainger, Hardeman, Henderson, Hickman, Jackson, Madison, Maury, McNairy, Moore, Overton, Scott, Smith, Wayne, Williamson and Wilson.

Last updated May 13, 2021