U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Archive Alert

Archived Content. This page contains information that may not reflect current policy or programs. Learn more

FEMA Program Aids Disaster Survivors with Critical Needs

Release Date Release Number
NR 004

Sacramento, Ca.--Individuals and households who have immediate or critical needs because they are displaced from their primary dwelling by the wildfires may be eligible for a special FEMA financial assistance program. Covered by the Critical Needs Assistance (CNA) program are life-saving and life-sustaining items. This includes, but is not limited to, water, food, first aid, prescriptions, infant formula, diapers, consumable medical supplies, durable medical equipment, personal hygiene items, and fuel for transportation.

CNA is a one-time $500 payment per household. The State of California requested that FEMA authorize CNA for specific geographic areas that are expected to be inaccessible for seven days or longer. To be eligible for CNA Applicants must request it before September 5.

Individuals and households may be eligible for CNA if the following criteria have been met:

  • The applicant registers with FEMA;
  • The applicant passes identity verification;
  • At registration, the applicant states that they have critical needs and requests financial assistance for those needs and expenses;
  • Their pre-disaster primary residence is located in Lake, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, or Yolo County.
  • The applicant is displaced from their pre-disaster primary residence as a result of the disaster for at least seven days.
Last updated March 18, 2021