FEMA Approves Nearly $300 Million in Loans for 76 Municipalities

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
April 24, 2019

GUAYNABO, Puerto Rico – FEMA’s Community Disaster Loan Program has approved nearly $300 million for 76 municipalities throughout Puerto Rico.

FEMA recently approved the Municipality of Utuado for a $5 million loan.

Community Disaster Loans are provided to local governments that suffered a substantial loss of tax and other revenues as a result of a disaster and can demonstrate a need for federal financial assistance to perform critical functions. Examples include expenses such as payroll, signs, supplies and maintenance materials related to disaster operations.

In May 2018, FEMA announced 20 municipalities as the first to be approved for loans. These were followed by 31 additional municipalities announced in July, 11 more municipalities announced in September and another 11 municipalities announced in October. In December, two additional municipalities were announced.

Loan applications are pending for other municipalities to help with their essential functions.

For more information on the Hurricane María recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4339 or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/FEMAPuertoRico.


Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.


Follow us at:





Last updated March 18, 2021