FEMA Approves More Than $294 Million in Loans for 75 Municipalities

Release Date Release Number
Release Date:
December 10, 2018

GUAYNABO, Puerto Rico – FEMA’s Community Disaster Loan Program has approved more than $294 million for 75 municipalities throughout Puerto Rico.


FEMA recently approved two municipalities for loans totaling $5.4 million.

  • Hormigueros was approved for $2.8 million.
  • Las Marias was approved for $2.6 million.

Community Disaster Loans are provided to local governments that suffered a substantial loss of tax and other revenues as a result of a disaster and can demonstrate a need for federal financial assistance to perform critical functions. Examples include expenses for fire and police departments and teachers.

In May 2018, FEMA announced 20 municipalities as the first to be approved for loans. These were followed by 31 additional municipalities announced in July, 11 more municipalities announced in September and another 11 municipalities announced in October.


Loan applications are pending for additional municipalities to help with their essential functions.

For more information on the Hurricane María recovery, visit fema.gov/disaster/4339 or follow us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/FEMAPuertoRico.

For more information on how to better prepare for disasters and tips on developing a family emergency kit, visit www.ready.gov. Visit this link to learn more about how to be the help until help arrives



Disaster recovery assistance is available without regard to race, color, religion, nationality, sex, age, disability, English proficiency or economic status. If you or someone you know has been discriminated against, call FEMA toll-free at 800-621-FEMA (3362) 711/VRS - Video Relay Service). Multilingual operators are available. (Press 2 for Spanish). TTY call 800-462-7585.


Follow us at:                              




Last updated March 18, 2021