Butte, Plumas, and Yuba Counties Receive Wildfire Aid

Release Date Release Number
DR-4558-CA NR 009
Release Date:
September 11, 2020

Sacramento, Calif.-- FEMA has designated Butte, Plumas and Yuba counties as eligible to receive federal assistance from the agency’s Public Assistance Program.

On August 22, 2020, President Donald J. Trump granted a Major Disaster Declaration for California making FEMA assistance available to help people and communities recovering from wildfires that occurred August 14, 2020, and continuing. That disaster declaration was amended to add the three counties for assistance with emergency protective measures.

The president’s August 22 major disaster declaration included the following eight counties for individual assistance as well as public assistance for emergency protective measures: Lake, Monterey, Napa, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma and Yolo.

Subsequently on September 5, the declaration was amended to designate Lake, Monterey, Napa, Santa Cruz, Solano, and Sonoma counties for Public Assistance with eligible debris removal projects.

The three counties added today bring to 11 the total number of California counties designated for public assistance as part of the major disaster declaration.

Eligible applicants for FEMA Public Assistance funds include state, county and local governments, federally recognized tribal governments, and some private non-profits such as educational and medical facilities. Typically, FEMA provides 75 percent of the cost of eligible projects.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.


Last updated