U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Hurricane Zeta Survivors in George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, and Stone Counties Can Apply for FEMA Disaster Assistance

Release Date Release Number
DR-4576-MS NR 001

ATLANTA – Homeowners and renters who suffered damage from Hurricane Zeta in George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson and Stone counties can apply to FEMA for federal disaster assistance. Survivors may be eligible to receive assistance for uninsured and underinsured damage and losses resulting from the hurricane.

The counties were designated eligible for FEMA’s Individual Assistance program under the Major Disaster Declaration signed by President Trump on Dec. 31, 2020, for damage and losses from Hurricane Zeta that occurred Oct. 28-29, 2020.

If you have a homeowner’s insurance policy, file your insurance claim immediately. The faster you file, the faster your recovery can begin. 

You can register for FEMA disaster assistance online by visiting DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 800-621-3362. Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing, or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. Multilingual operators are available. Lines are open daily from 6 a.m. to midnight Central Time.

You will need to have the following available:

  • A current phone number where you can be contacted;
  • Your address at the time of the disaster and the address where you are now staying;
  • Your Social Security number, if available;
  • A general list of damages and losses; and
  • If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent and company name.

If you cannot return to your home, or you are unable to live in your home, visit DisasterAssistance.gov, or call 800-621-3362 (800-462-7585 TTY) to determine what federal, state, local, or voluntary agency assistance may be available to you. 

If you can return to your home and it is safe, has working power, water, and sewer or septic service, visit DisasterAssistance.gov to determine if state, voluntary and local organizations in your community can address any unmet needs.

Disaster assistance may provide temporary help and a place to stay while you build your own recovery plan. Although the federal government cannot make you whole, it may be able to help your recovery move forward by providing grants for basic repairs to make your home safe, accessible and secure. FEMA is unable to duplicate insurance payments. However, those without insurance, or those who may be underinsured, may still receive help after their insurance claims have been settled.

Long-term, low-interest disaster loans for homeowners, renters, businesses and non-profit organizations from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) are available to cover losses not fully compensated by insurance and other sources.

If referred, applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via the SBA’s secure website at DisasterLoan.sba.gov or by calling the SBA Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955 (800-877-8339 TTY) or by sending an e-mail to disastercustomerservice@sba.gov.

Federal funding is also available to state, tribal and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by Hurricane Zeta in George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Perry, Stone and Wayne counties. 

Last updated February 14, 2021