U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov

A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS

A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites..

Disaster Recovery Center in Marshall County to Close October 3

Release Date Release Number

Help is still available for derecho survivors

DES MOINES, Iowa – A FEMA Disaster Recovery Center will close in Marshall County on Saturday, October 3 at 6 p.m.  However, help for survivors of the August derecho is just a phone call, a mouse click or a tap away on the FEMA app.

The DRC in Marshalltown is located at:

101 Iowa Ave. W

Marshalltown, IA 50158

Behind the Marshalltown VA Clinic

(Please enter from W. Berle Rd and proceed south behind the building.)


As previously announced, the DRC in Cedar Rapids will close on Saturday, September 26 at 6 p.m. It is located at:

The parking lot between Cedar Rapids Kernels Stadium and Kingston Stadium

950 Rockford Rd. SW

Cedar Rapids, IA 52404

(Enter the parking lot from the corner of Veterans Memorial Drive and Kurt Warner Way).


DRCs are open Monday through Saturday, 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central Time

Closed Sundays

Survivors do not have to visit a DRC to register or submit documents to FEMA. 

Applicants may register in the following ways:

  • Go online to DisasterAssistance.gov.
  • Download the FEMA Mobile App for smartphones.
  • Call 800-621-3362 (TTY: 800-462-7585) between 6 a.m. and 10 p.m. Central Time, seven days a week. Multilingual operators are available.

Documents also may be submitted in any of the following ways:

  • Mail to FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program, National Processing Service Center, P.O. Box 10055, Hyattsville, MD 20782-7055. 
  • Fax to 800-827-8112.
  • Submit them via a FEMA online account. To set up an online account,  visit DisasterAssistance.gov, click on “Check Status” and follow the directions.

Survivors in Benton, Boone, Cedar, Jasper, Linn, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Story and Tama counties have until October 19 to register for disaster assistance.

Last updated September 24, 2020