Main Content

Preparedness (Non-Disaster) Grants

FEMA provides state and local governments with preparedness program funding in the form of Non-Disaster Grants to enhance the capacity of state and local emergency responders to prevent, respond to, and recover from a weapons of mass destruction terrorism incident involving chemical, biological, radiological, nuclear, and explosive devices and cyber-attacks.

Authorized Equipment List (AEL)

The AEL is a tool used to determine allowability of equipment types for FEMA’s Preparedness Grant Programs. The AEL is used to facilitate more effective and efficient procurement of items under specific FEMA Preparedness Grants by informing grantees of equipment items allowed under specific grant programs and relevant programmatic considerations associated with each equipment item.  The AEL consists of 21 equipment categories, which are then divided into sub-categories, and then individual equipment items.

Access Authorized Equipment List (AEL) file.

Prohibited and Controlled Equipment

On January 16, 2015, President Barack Obama issued Executive Order 13688, “Federal Support for Local Law Enforcement Equipment Acquisition” (EO), to identify actions that can improve federal support for the appropriate use, acquisition, and transfer of controlled equipment by state, local, tribal, and territorial law enforcement agencies.  The EO established a federal interagency Law Enforcement Equipment Working Group, which consulted with stakeholders and deliberated to develop the recommendations that are now requirements for all preparedness grants awarded after October 1, 2015. 

Information Bulletin No. 407 - Use of Grant Funds for Controlled Equipment, provides details on the process and requirements for requesting controlled equipment.  FEMA Form 087-0-0-1 - Controlled Equipment Request is available for download.

FY 2016 Preparedness Grants | Allocation Announcement

FY 2016 Preparedness Grants | Notice of Funding Opportunity

Please note:  The FY 2015 Assistance to Firefighter Grants (AFG) are awarded on a rolling cycle, with all funds awarded prior to September 30, 2016.

Last Updated: 
07/06/2016 - 11:02