Do I have to be a U.S. Citizen to be qualified for assistance?

To be considered for FEMA disaster assistance, you must be one of the following:

  • U.S. citizen
  • Non-citizen national
  • Qualified non-citizen

A qualified non-citizen:

  • Legal permanent resident (“green card” holder)
  • Non-citizens granted asylum
  • Refugees
  • Non-citizens whose deportation status is being withheld for at least one year
  • Non-citizens paroled into the U.S. for at least one year for urgent humanitarian purposes or significant public benefit
  • Cuban/Haitian entrants
  • Certain battered non-citizens or their spouses or children
  • Certain victims of a severe form of human trafficking, including persons with a “T” or “U” visa

If you do not meet the citizenship requirements, the household may still apply for certain forms of federal assistance if:

  • The parent or legal guardian of a minor child who is a U.S. citizen, non-citizen national, or qualified non-citizen applies on behalf of the minor child, so long as they live in the same household. The parent or legal guardian must apply as the co-applicant, and the minor child must be under age 18 at the time the disaster occurred.

Learn More About These Requirements

Last updated