Main Content

Deadline to register with FEMA is June 15; Over $9 Million granted for Mississippi survivors

Release date: 
May 28, 2020
Release Number: 
DR-4536-MS NR-012

Canton, MS – Individuals and households in Clarke, Covington, Grenada, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Jones,  Lawrence, Panola and Walthall counties have until June 15, 2020 to register with FEMA for assistance.

These counties have been designated by the President as a major disaster which makes disaster assistance available to eligible disaster survivors.

As of May 27, almost 2,200 individuals and households have registered with FEMA. More than $9.1 million in federal grants and disaster loans has been approved for homeowners, renters and businesses recovering from the April 12 tornadoes, severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding.

This assistance includes over $2.8 million in housing assistance and nearly $688,000 for other disaster-related needs. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) has approved over $5.5 million in loans for businesses, homeowners and renters.

Survivors who have underinsured or uninsured damages from the April 12 tornadoes and who have not registered with FEMA can do so in several ways:

  • Going online to
  • Downloading the free FEMA App from their cellphone’s app store (both Apple and Android), then clicking on the “Disaster Resources” button and then clicking on “Apply for Assistance Online.” Following these steps will take you to
  • Calling 800-621-3362 (800-462-7585 TTY). VRS users also should call 800-621-3362. Multilingual operators are available. The toll-free numbers are open daily from 6 a.m. to 9 p.m. central time.

June 15 also is the deadline to apply to the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) for low-interest disaster loans for physical property damage. The deadline for economic injury applications is January 19, 2021.

Applicants may apply online using SBA’s secure website at and apply under SBA declaration # 16423, not for the Covid-19 incident. For further assistance call the SBA Disaster Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955.

For more information on Mississippi’s recovery from the April 12 disaster, visit the FEMA disaster web page,  and the Mississippi Emergency Management Agency


FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

Last Updated: 
May 28, 2020 - 10:41