Main Content

President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for New York

Release date: 
December 20, 2019
Release Number: 

WASHINGTON – FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of New York to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding on Oct. 31, 2019 -- Nov. 1, 2019.

The President’s action makes federal funding available to the state, tribal, eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair and replacement of facilities damaged by severe storms, straight-line winds and flooding in Chautauqua, Chenango, Cortland, Erie, Essex, Fulton, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Oswego, Otsego, Saratoga, Tioga, and Warren counties. 

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for statewide.

Robert Little III has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Little said additional designations may be made at a later date if warranted by the results of further damage assessments. 


FEMA's mission is to help people before, during and after disasters.

Follow FEMA online, on Twitter @FEMA or @FEMAEspanol, on FEMA's Facebook page or Espanol page and at FEMA's YouTube account. Also, follow Acting Administrator Pete Gaynor’s activities @FEMA_Pete.

Last Updated: 
December 20, 2019 - 13:21