Main Content

State/FEMA Disaster Recovery Center Opens in Minnehaha County

Release date: 
December 11, 2019
Release Number: 

SIOUX FALLS, SD – The State of South Dakota and FEMA have opened a disaster recovery center in Minnehaha County to offer face-to-face support to individuals and businesses impacted by the severe storms, tornadoes and flooding from September 9 - 26. The new center is located at:

Southeast Technical Institute
Ed Wood Trade and Industry Center, Rooms 205 and 207
2000 N. Career Ave., Sioux Falls

Hours of Operation are Monday - Saturday 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. 

Other centers are currently open around the state. Addresses for open centers can be found at or by calling the FEMA Helpline below. 

Representatives from the state, FEMA, U.S. Small Business Administration, and other organizations will staff the centers to explain available assistance programs and help connect survivors with resources that best match their recovery needs.  FEMA Hazard Mitigation specialists will also be available to provide advice on rebuilding to avoid damage from future disasters. 

Homeowners, renters and businesses can register for disaster assistance before visiting a recovery center. There are several ways to register:

  • Online at
  • By calling the disaster assistance Helpline at 800-621-3362 or TTY: 800-462-7585. Lines are open daily from 7 a.m.-11 p.m. Help is available in most languages.
  • At one of FEMA’s disaster recovery center locations. Centers are accessible and are equipped with video remote interpreting and assistive listening devices. Ask for an in-person American Sign Language (ASL) interpreter, if needed. 

The South Dakota areas now designated for Individual Assistance are: Brookings, Charles Mix, Davison, Hanson, Hutchinson, Lake, Lincoln, McCook, Minnehaha, Moody, and Yankton counties and the Flandreau and Yankton Indian Reservations.

Last Updated: 
December 11, 2019 - 13:03