Main Content

Disaster Assistance Applicants Determined Ineligible Can Appeal to FEMA

Release date: 
October 28, 2019
Release Number: 
R4 DR-4429-MS NR 020

JACKSON, Miss. — The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is doing its best to see that every Mississippi storm and flood survivor receives every dollar of assistance for which they are eligible. If you do not agree with FEMA, you can file an appeal.

An appeal is a written request to have to your FEMA eligibility determination reviewed.  Your appeal may concern the amount and type of assistance provided to you, your eligibility for disaster assistance, or your need for continuing support.

FEMA disaster assistance is designed to help with uninsured or under-insured damage caused by this year’s severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding in Clay, Humphreys, Issaquena, Lowndes, Monroe, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo counties.

If you are dissatisfied with FEMA's determination, you must file your appeal within 60 days of the date of your determination letter. Your appeal must be in writing, signed and dated, and can be submitted by U.S. mail, fax or online:

  • By mail, send your appeal to FEMA Appeals Officer, P.O. Box 10055, Hyattsville, MD 20782-8055 .
  • By computer, upload the appeal to your online disaster account at
  • By fax, 800-827-8112 (Attn: FEMA).

For suggestions on how to write an appeal letter, visit

Your appeal should include:

  • Why you think the amount or the type of assistance you received is incorrect.
  • A list of disaster-caused damage and unmet needs you believe were not covered.
  • Verifiable invoices, receipts or letters documenting payments made to landlords, doctors, merchants, schools, employers, etc.
  • This is the disaster number: DR-4429-MS. You will need your FEMA registration ID/number too.
  • If you authorize someone else to write and sign the appeal letter for you, you must submit a signed statement authorizing that person to represent you.

If you need help with your letter or have questions about the appeal process, call FEMA's Helpline at 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). The toll-free lines are open daily, 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. Multilingual operators are available.


All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, call 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585).

FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For more information, applicants may visit a temporary disaster recovery center, or contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing or visiting SBA’s website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

Last Updated: 
October 28, 2019 - 15:09