Main Content

Tuesday, Nov. 19 is Last Day to Apply for FEMA Disaster Assistance

Release date: 
October 21, 2019
Release Number: 
R4 DR-4429-MS NR 016

JACKSON, Miss. —  Mississippi survivors of this year’s severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes and flooding have until Tuesday, Nov. 19, 2019 to apply for disaster assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

FEMA disaster assistance may be available to homeowners and renters with storm- and flood-damaged property in Clay, Humphreys, Issaquena, Lowndes, Monroe, Sharkey, Warren and Yazoo counties.

"We want people to understand that this deadline is for new disaster applications," said FEMA Federal Coordinating Officer Joe Girot. "For those who already have applied, their cases will continue to be processed. New applications will not be accepted after Nov. 19."

Disaster Recovery Centers in Vicksburg and Columbus will remain open through Oct. 31, where you can meet face-to-face with representatives of FEMA, the State of Mississippi, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) and other agencies. At the DRCs you can check the status of your claim, learn about filing an appeal and get information about other available state, federal and community programs.

If you have not yet registered with FEMA, you may do so until Nov. 19 by visiting   or calling 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585). These toll-free lines are open 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. daily. Multilingual operators are available.After the application deadline, FEMA will still be available to assist those who have already registered. Applicants who have questions about disaster assistance programs or the status of their previously-filed applications should continue to use FEMA's toll-free numbers.

The application deadline for low-interest disaster loans from the SBA for physical damages is also Nov. 19. SBA disaster loans can help fund repair or replacement costs not covered by insurance or other sources. Applicants may apply online at or, for more information, contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center at 800-659-2955.


All FEMA disaster assistance will be provided without discrimination on the grounds of race, color, sex (including sexual harassment), religion, national origin, age, disability, limited English proficiency, economic status, or retaliation. If you believe your civil rights are being violated, call 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585).

FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during, and after disasters.

The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) is the federal government’s primary source of money for the long-term rebuilding of disaster-damaged private property. SBA helps businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, homeowners and renters fund repairs or rebuilding efforts and cover the cost of replacing lost or disaster-damaged personal property. These disaster loans cover losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. For more information, applicants may visit a temporary disaster recovery center, or contact SBA’s Disaster Assistance Customer Service Center by calling 800-659-2955, emailing or visiting SBA’s website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339.

Last Updated: 
October 21, 2019 - 09:34