Main Content

Twelve Counties Added to Hurricane Dorian Disaster Declaration

Release date: 
October 18, 2019
Release Number: 

Oct. 18, 2019
DR-4465-NC NR 002
Media Contact: (919) 990-4090

News Release

Twelve Counties Added to Hurricane Dorian Disaster Declaration

DURHAM, N.C.— Twelve more North Carolina counties are eligible to apply for federal disaster assistance to supplement state and local Hurricane Dorian recovery efforts.

FEMA Public Assistance funding is now available to local governments, state agencies and certain private nonprofits in the following counties if they were affected by Hurricane Dorian beginning Sept. 1-9:  Beaufort, Camden, Columbus, Greene, Hoke, Lenoir, Onslow, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Robeson and Wayne.

The 12 additions bring the total to 26 North Carolina counties designated for Public Assistance as part of the Hurricane Dorian major disaster declaration.

The president’s Oct. 4 major disaster declaration included the 14 following counties for Public Assistance: Brunswick, Carteret, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, New Hanover, Pamlico, Pender, Sampson, Tyrrell, and Washington.

Public Assistance is a cost-sharing program to reimburse eligible disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and the repair or restoration of public facilities such as roads, bridges, water control facilities, buildings, equipment, public utilities, parks and recreational facilities.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

For more information on North Carolina’s recovery from Hurricane Dorian, visit Follow us on Twitter: @NCEmergency and @FEMARegion4.




FEMA’s mission: Helping people before, during and after disasters.





Last Updated: 
October 18, 2019 - 11:29